Wellness Revolutionary Mike Diamond Prescribes a Dose of Positivity

Talent Concierge Artists Agency
6 min readMar 14, 2023

--

Just what the doctor ordered — concrete tips on how to lean on intuition and trust the spiritual energy within, available in Diamond’s upcoming book.

“I’ve become a master at the monotonous. I’ve mastered the basics and that’s what I show others how to do. Don’t waste time, fail forward, and keep moving,” Diamond shares in an inspiring account of his life and career with Talent Concierge Artists Agency’s communications team.

By Adriana Martinez, Communications | TCAA

Discussion on mental health is nothing new, but the acknowledgment of its importance and impact is still evolving and finding a spotlight in the public arena. Conversation on something so personal, and for many painful, can be difficult to begin and even more difficult to continue. Mike Diamond, a certified interventionist, dedicates his life to being an advocate for recovery, resilience, and redemption. After living through plenty of “lows” himself, he understands on a personal and spiritual level how terrifying it can be to change your mindset. He shares his life experience, from great victories to great pains, with audiences to inspire and guide them.

Audiences may recognize Mike from his work on Bondi Ink Tattoo Crew or perhaps have had the pleasure of hearing him deliver a program. Now, Diamond adds to his acumen as an author with the upcoming release of his second book, A Dose of Positivity. The new release includes not only his own incredible stories of overcoming hardship, but reveals his personally tested techniques for staying grounded, finding success, and creating positive change.

What has inspired you to shape your career into what it is today?

I never intended on going into writing. I went to acting school and then moved to America. I really thought it was going to be all about acting. Suddenly I had a pivoting moment when I was shooting a VH1 show. When you come from a small town like Perth, you want to achieve all this stuff on a superficial level, but ultimately, I felt empty. I felt so empty. I got sober at 19, the first time around, but didn’t understand sobriety. I didn’t tell people at first, I decided I was just going to get sober and see what happens. I tell people now, don’t think about the long term. Just get sober for the day and take it from there.

How are you able to express such confident vulnerability?

Looking back, I’d always helped people. I have an older cousin who had some pretty severe mental health issues, and I could just connect with him. He’d just gotten out of a mental institution, and he’d only talk to me. Seeing what he went through and how we could talk about these things, I realized I had the ability to connect with people. I realize now I was also very lucky to be around some incredible mentors. I would just go to meetings and listen and started to really understand how people think.

When did your messaging begin to expand beyond those seeking sobriety?

Like I said, I started to really go into how people think. I got certified in neurolinguistics programming and started studying mindfulness. When I was doing the interventions and the sober coaching, I realized that everyone has issues, and no one gets away with it in this human experience. We are all trying to avoid some kind of pain and gain some kind of pleasure, so how do you get an empowering dose? That’s why the book is called A Dose of Positivity. When I talk about a dose, I am talking about dopamine, oxytocin, serotonin, and endorphins. These are the happy brain chemicals. So that’s really where it started to expand. All I try to do is help people solve problems.

What would you say limits people’s progress?

People always say they don’t have enough time, so I teach people how to manage their own time. They don’t have enough resources, so I show them how to be resourceful. And if they don’t have enough money, there is a trick; if I can work out what I am good at and what I am skilled in and I can pinpoint a purpose and a value I can bring to others with this skill, then so can they; to live up to their potential and love themselves while doing what they love. In life, it’s all about living with purpose and bringing others value. My life was the opposite before and when it was all about me, me, me, it was miserable. Now, it’s all about helping others remove the obstacles to live an empowered life.

What piece of advice positively changed your life?

There was a guy years ago, and it was an incredible moment, who told me something I’ll never forget. He said, ‘The time will change but the place remains the same.’ I asked him what he meant, and he explained that you can never go back in time, but you can always go back to a place you once were. So, don’t waste your time, it is too precious. Get on with yourself and when you’ve changed, you’ll be able to reflect back and appreciate your journey, maybe even return to those places where you once struggled. You’ll be happy you didn’t procrastinate. Live in the moment and just fail and keep going.

You’re often referred to as a wellness revolutionary. How much does mental health attribute to that title?

Mental health is the most important thing. People don’t talk about it and too many people suffer in silence. I have made a lot of mistakes and I know what it feels like when everyone wants to shame you for those mistakes. I want people to talk about them, so they don’t feel ashamed. We live in a comparison world where you have to be a certain way, but that isolation and perfection is a lie. Life is a process. You’re supposed to make a mess, make mistakes, and be human. Talking about your mental health normalizes it and helps others feel seen. For me, mental health is the first thing to prioritize, because if you don’t have your mental health, you don’t have your spiritual health and you can’t have your physical health. Everything revolves around taking care of your mental health.

What will your new book, A Dose of Positivity, offer readers?

To be strong you have to be vulnerable. To grow you have to be vulnerable. In A Dose of Positivity, readers will learn to unlock their potential and discover how to make dreams a reality.

Early endorsements for A Dose of Positivity

Mike Diamond is more than a writer and teacher — he is a wellness revolutionary and a force for change. A Dose of Positivity is a must read to fast track your life.” — Kelly Cutrone, CEO People’s Revolution & NY Times Best Selling Author.

A Dose of Positivity, by Mike Diamond, is a cocktail of content that educates and empowers, not with unrealistic bars to meet but with real-life lessons learned. Get yourself a dose now!” — Allie Merrick McGuire, Chief Editor & Cofounder of AwareNow Magazine.

A Dose of Positivity is a book that will help anyone who feels stuck and needs inspiration and motivation. Mike Diamond’s courage and resilience offer a path forward for all of us. He truly walks the talk and shows us simple, powerful ways to heal and thrive.” — Shauna Shapiro, Ph.D. & Author of Good Morning, I Love You: Mindfulness + Self-Compassion to Rewire Your Brain for Calm, Clarity, and Joy.

A Dose of Positivity releases on April 4th, 2023, and is available for preorder now.

Visit Mike’s website for more details at https://themikediamond.com/books/

Secure your advanced copy of A Dose of Positivity today and discover the tools and techniques to live life on your terms.

--

--

Talent Concierge Artists Agency
0 Followers

Talent Concierge Artists Agency is devoted to changing the world, one experience at a time.